Tennis Planet

Official Freaking Site Of Tennis Freaking Fans Worldwide.

My favorite quotes.

Posted by tennisplanet on February 27, 2008

Stand back. I don’t know how far it will go. No, this is not Adam talking to Eve. It’s me telling you that I will be adding new quotes off and on, so the list can eventually be pretty long. That’s all. Geeeeeeeeeezzzzz!!!!! I can’t believe a clean cut guy like me is stuck with all you perverted freaks.

-Ultimately we know deeply that the other side of every fear is freedom.

-Someday I hope to enjoy enough of what the world calls success so that someone will ask me, ‘What’s the secret of it?’ I shall say simply this “I get up when I fall down.”

-You can get everything in life that you want, if you’ll first help enough people get what they want.

-If money is your hope for independence, you will never have it. The only security that a man can have in this world is a reserve of knowledge, experience and ability.

-It is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood, who strives valiantly, who errs and comes short again and again, who knows the great enthusiasm, the great devotions, who spends himself in a worthy cause, who at best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those timid souls who know neither victory or defeat.

-Progress always involves risk. You can’t steal second base and keep your foot on first.

-Luck is a word used to describe the success of people you don’t like.

-Unjust criticism is usually a disguised compliment. It often means you have aroused jealousy and envy. Remember that no one ever kicks a dead dog.

-Every adversity has the seed of an equivalent or greater benefit.

-What happens is not as important as how you react to what happens.

-The more you love what you are doing, the more successful it will be for you.

-Nothing can add more power to your life than concentrating all of your energies on a limited set of targets.

-Nothing can resist the human will that will stake even its existence on its stated purpose.

-The following words will carry me through every adversity and maintain my life in balance – This too shall pass.

-Do what you can, with what you have, where you are.

-I am not judged by the number of times I fail, but the number of times I succeed and the number of times I succeed is in direct proportion to the number of times I can fail and keep on trying.

-The minute you settle for less than you deserve, you get even less than you settled for.

7 Responses to “My favorite quotes.”

  1. Eva said

    Pretty good, TP. This too shall pass, it is true, but sometomes too much has passed. Ah, well, your intentions are good regarding these inspirational quotes.
    As long as there is no Pollyanna stuff, which drives me up the wall. “Everything will abe all right,”–because clearly that’s not the case, and then we have to live with things as they are.
    But I will give an exlalmple of an even worse attitude–meant to spare the individual who said it from feeling any loss or responsibility: where I had worked, an assistant secretary was fired. She worked hard, she had been with the company longer than anyone else, and knew things, and how to go about things, better thananyone else. But she wasn’t liked by her boss, because she was a little nervous and had been brought up to be deferential, and she fussed a little so her job sometimes gtook longer. One of my cooleagues, a young woman, not particularly talented or even bright, and who had gotten this secretary to do quite a bir of her work a titmes had remarked: “Well, everything happens for a reason.”
    It was infuriating and unfair. The lady felt very hurt, and she was of an age when realistically she had no hope of getting a job.
    So this kind of platitude is meant only to relieve someone’s sense of guilt.

  2. srikandi said

    Good ones. Personally, the third one is the hardest to do because I always end up with too many sets of targets.

  3. Sarah said

    Not a bad list, TP. My personal favorite is number seven.

  4. Bess from Alabama said

    You know what? I love your site and really appreciate these quotes.

  5. Katie said

    Good list, TP. The words I’ve found most useful are: don’t go in the entrance, unless you can see the exit.

  6. deep south girl said

    Hmmmm-mm, Katie. IMO “don’t go into the entrance unless you can see the exit” would lead to a terribly boring life–the thrill of living is to take chances, do things you’ve never done, etc.
    I started my own business and it was scary but I just held my nose and jumped in the deep end. Every day is different but it is challenging and rewarding. See what I mean?

  7. bluechyll said

    My favourite quote:

    It’s Nice to be important but it’s important to be nice.
    -Roger Federer

    😀

Leave a Reply

 
