Tennis Planet

Official Freaking Site Of Tennis Freaking Fans Worldwide.

Serena’s Glam Slam. From Chicago Fan. Thanks.

Posted by tennisplanet on July 10, 2010

CHICAGO FAN

As some of you may have guessed, I am not usually a fan of Serena Williams. However, I do believe in giving credit where credit is due.

Serena recently gave an interview to Harper’s Bazaar, in which she discussed comparing her physique to Venus’, and coming to terms with her body issues.

Now, there are many reasons that I am not a member of the Serena Williams fan club. However, in this instance, I think that she is sending the right message to her young fans, particularly the girls.

http://www.harpersbazaar.com/fashion/fashion-articles/serena-williams-body-0810

5 Responses to “Serena’s Glam Slam. From Chicago Fan. Thanks.”

  1. M said

    Respectfully, I think it’s *half* the right message (and that’s the magazine’s fault, not Serena’s).

    I think it’s great that she’s not letting the constant comparisons to Venus’ physique affect her, because they really are built differently.

    However — that many Grand Slam titles and the magazine says her *body* is her biggest victory? No, thanks.

    When Rafa was on the cover of Men’s Fitness it was because he was the fittest man in the world that year, and the teaser copy on the cover said as much.

    Now, that certainly doesn’t make Rafa any less yum-esque. 😛
    But it was his *achievements* that were being celebrated, even more than his physique, and I certainly believe Serena deserves no less for what she’s accomplished.

    YMMV.

    • extranjera said

      I agree completely. She’s the most accomplished tennis player right now but it doesn’t matter as much as dropping a bit of weight? Grrr!

      I remember a good interview with her a while ago where she was saying how she always wants to copy Venus, do what she does, have what she has and if Venus wasn’t happy about something she wouldn’t too – the interview finished with her team deciding on dinner and she was going to eat what Venus wanted, bless. So I think it’s quite sweet that she only really reels she’s out of her sister’s shadow now.

  2. jett09 said

    I really like Serena and yes she has a wonderful smile and I prefer her body than Venus.

  3. Ricke said

    I thought Serena looked fitter. Good for her, it is helping her game as well. She moved great during Wimbledon.

  4. MM said

    She’s an awesome tennis player, no aspect of her game is weak but I do not like her, Venus nor their father, all of whom I’ve seen play the race card.

    When she is on I believe she is the best female tennis player in the world. I would love nothing more to be able to root for an American but can not.

Leave a Reply

 
