Tennis Planet

Official Freaking Site Of Tennis Freaking Fans Worldwide.

Who should be hurting the most after this Murray win?

Posted by tennisplanet on August 15, 2010

Nadal? Duh!!!!!!

He was so thoroughly outplayed by Murray that any hope of winning another title for the rest of the season not only vanished, it may take a while to come back. If that wasn’t enough, off-form Federer’s relatively close showing against Murray did the rest to seal the deal.

Granted its his least favorite surface but it appears this time Nadal may have met his match on hard courts – forever. There seems a very remote shot of Nadal turning the tables on Murray like he did against Tsonga and Blake back in the dark ages. Nadal has sensed that for a while explaining the over the top celebration he indulged in after that Wimbledon win over Murray.

However, if Nadal and his camp can post a consistent winning record against Murray moving forward, it could prove to be their most crowning achievement since capturing Federer. But until then Murray is taking the spoils – over Nadal.

28 Responses to “Who should be hurting the most after this Murray win?”

  1. M said

    *rises to the bait*

    “He was so thoroughly outplayed by Murray that any hope of winning another title for the rest of the season not only vanished, it may take a while to come back.”

    I don’t buy that.

    So many people thought AndyMur was totally over after he quit his coach and lost to SamQ in L.A.
    And then he played the kind of tennis he played this tournament, taking out, for my money, three of the best players in the game, right in a row.

    As Rafa himself said, even if it’s not your favorite “surfrace”, lol, you “figure it out and find a way to win”.

    Vamos!!

    • jett09 said

      “As Rafa himself said, even if it’s not your favorite “surfrace”, lol, you “figure it out and find a way to win”.”

      😉

  2. O said

    This may have been the opportunity for Roger to improve his H-2-H against Rafa, but unfortunately Murray already beat him.

  3. wuiches said

    If you are right, then Fedex and and all the Federals of the world(95% of tennis fan population) can rest in peace since Nadal won’t ever get the career grand slam.

    The only rationalization for Nadal is to tell himself that Murray had a tournament before and that he is coming from 3 weeks out of practice because of his knee treatment, also that the h2h on hard courts is now 4-4.

    But I agree with you Murray played so well and Nadal’s ball doesn’t run in the same fashion than on clay(high bounce very heavy top spin) or grass(lower bounce but faster than on hard courts) but after all he has a very strong mind and he’ll try to dead to get the USO.

    If he gets it, My Lord!!!!!!!

    So next weeks are gonna be very exiting!!

    By the way I don’t think he is gonna try to rise the trophy at Cincy, he shouldn’t get tired neither physically nor mentally, he must arraive to NY with the tank completely full and he knows that.

    Right now he is trying to get the rhythm back again and with 3 or 4 matches at Cincy and the first 3 at NY I think he is gonna be tuned and ready for the top dogs.

    So, lets wait and see!!!!!!

  4. Dominic Anderson said

    “Federals of the world(95% of tennis fan population)”

    lol 😀

  5. Manal said

    Maybe Nadal just needed another 2 sets of game to finish off Murray? That could be done in USO 2010.

  6. Chieko said

    😕 I think only time can tell really.

    • jennifur said

      v.sensible post!!!

      thought rafa not @ best but scot @ or near best.

      that made diff.

      rafa not servin well + lotta errors.

      scot servin v.well!!!! + playin attack.

      good wins 4 him last week.

  7. Jenny said

    In this instance Rafa was outplayed by Murray and he lost, but I would imagine he is perfectly fine, he may be disappointed he couldn’t reach the final in Canada, but I doubt he’d be hurting. In tennis reality, winning one title does not make a summer, there are other players who have won titles this season, some more than one, so Andy knows what he’s up against too. The key is consistency and fitness, and overall Rafa has proved himself on that score, he’s already won two slams and other titles this year, got himself to #1 with a good cushion, so not half bad.

    What concerns me somewhat is Roger’s inconsistency and second set dips when he allows an opponent back into the match and it then becomes a dogfight in breakers. Historically, this isn’t so new really, but he doesn’t appear to be able to up his level during these bad patches and cruise through as he once did.

    • Bonnie said

      “What concerns me somewhat is Roger’s inconsistency and second set dips when he allows an opponent back into the match and it then becomes a dogfight in breakers. Historically, this isn’t so new really, but he doesn’t appear to be able to up his level during these bad patches and cruise through as he once did.”

      I know Jenny, right? It concerns me too, but I’m hoping more time spent with Anacone (sp?) will help to bring him through this and end up on the winning side. But it does seem that Roger is gang busters in the first set, gets a lead in the second, and then completely falls apart. I think it’s mental conditioning he needs, and I hope he’ll get mega doses of it before the US Open.

      • Jenny said

        I’m certain it isn’t his technical ability, he has a big arsenal and still displays flashes of brilliance, so I don’t think he needs a coach in that respect. Let’s hope Annacone can inject some fresh blood into his mind, inspiration, call it what you will, he just needs to get some consistent mojo back. Basically it’s down to Roger himself.

    • M said

      ‘What concerns me somewhat is Roger’s inconsistency and second set dips when he allows an opponent back into the match and it then becomes a dogfight in breakers.’

      Jenny, I think you’ve called attention to something important and interesting here.

      It looks just to me — and mine is, of course, only one opinion — that some of Roger’s new shot selections and aggressive approaches that he’s utilizing in early sets may well be partially a result of his work with PA.

      The tricky thing is, it’s hard to integrate something new that you’ve just learned, and easy when it’s slipped your mind (which is what I think can happen to him sometimes in the second set) to revert to less than optimally productive habits. (AMOF I think Rafa went through that for a time when he was integrating a different serve and net play, which were newer for him, and had to fight not to revert to more totally defensive baseline play.)

      I think the fight that Roger’s exhibiting again in many of his third sets is a resurgence of his old determination due to confidence in the things he’d done right in the match so far. He’s still been “going away” at some critical places in the second set, but he doesn’t *stay* in that “gone away” mental place.

      Which I guess is a long-winded way of saying I hope he stays with PA and doesn’t decide not to continue working with him just because match-win results didn’t come immediately as he might have originally hoped.

      And after all, he did play the final, and did revenge himself against Berdych, instead of being eliminated in a QF. It takes time to overcome bad (match) habits and improve; I don’t care how much of a genius you are.

      And I — and I don’t think I’m the only one — have seen such notable differences in his play since he started working with PA that I think it’s only a matter of time before he adapts new good form fully to his new circumstances, and I do think it’ll click fully for him in time for the USO — if they continue.

      • Jenny said

        “And I — and I don’t think I’m the only one — have seen such notable differences in his play since he started working with PA that I think it’s only a matter of time before he adapts new good form fully to his new circumstances, and I do think it’ll click fully for him in time for the USO — if they continue”

        I wouldn’t disagree, M. I really hope you’re right for the future, I remain cautiously optimistic.

        Cincy: It looks like Feli wants home, he’s playing badly and Dent is in the ascendancy right now. He’s never done well in Cincy. Our comms wondered if he was sick or injured, Feli can play better than this. Wawrinka has easily rolled over Almagro. I’ve got Ferru coming up later against a tricky Dolgo.

      • Somebody Else said

        You and Jenny pretty much covered it, M.
        Although, the whole one-step-slower idea keeps lingering in my head, and I wonder if that plays a major part in the relative lapse (or patchiness) in effective ballstriking. Is there a more substantial fitness issue at play? Does this account for the increased grunting during points? I haven’t seen Fed at his most lethal since this year’s AO final (that I can remember).

      • Jenny said

        Although, the whole one-step-slower idea keeps lingering in my head, and I wonder if that plays a major part in the relative lapse (or patchiness) in effective ballstriking.

        I’ve noticed it too, SE. Fitness could be an issue.

      • M said

        SE, I agree that one-step-slower has to be a factor, b/c time stops for no one, not even the mighty Roger.

        I also agree with what Sir V (I think it was him, yes?) said about the pace of Roger’s shots not necessarily being what it was in, say, 07 — because I noticed that from both Berdych and Murray, some of his more spectacular shots (e.g., the backhand volley, sometimes even the fearhand) were coming back to him more regularly.

        However, I think that’s one of the things that makes the work with PA that much more valuable — because he worked with Pete when Pete was in a similar age bracket, and adjustments were mandatory.
        So I think the biggest gifts PA can offer — in addition to drawing attention, when they watch replay films, on the “going away” moments, so they can work together on isolating the factors that lead up to those moments and eradicating them — are contingency plans, several if necessary b/c Roger’s creative mind can certainly handle that, to *compensate* for the half-step gone.

        (We certainly all have to do it, which is one of the other reasons I believe so firmly that it *is* doable. One of my trainers shared the tendons and ligaments don’t retain as much stretch anymore beyond a certain age b/c the body doesn’t produce as much synovial fluid, so we have to work to maximize muscle strength and flexibility in order to compensate, in order to retain the same (or a comparable) range of motion.)

        _____________________________________________

        Jenny, you’re so right about Feli — I just sneaked a peek at LiveScore, and that scoreline was quite abysmal. I hope he isn’t sick or injured; I certainly don’t rule out sick as several are suffering from the humidity here in upper North America.

        (Even transitions are felt; I was away for a week somewhere much less humid; we arrived back Saturday and I sure feel like ‘ick’ today.)

        Also, how about Dolgopolov? Interesting profile he seems to be developing. Didn’t he seem to be giving Berdych some trouble in Toronto?

      • Somebody Else said

        M: “…about the pace of Roger’s shots not necessarily being what it was in, say, ’07…”

        —This is absolutely correct! The pace of his shots is not what it was before. This is a huge part of why he’s not had the kind of success of previous seasons. I’ve commented on it before and still agree. I can see the difference. Some attribute this to slower courts, but I think it’s mainly Fed’s hitting.

      • Jenny said

        I like watching Dolgo, very refreshing player, not that I want to see him against Ferru in the first round! David won’t make things easy for him, he will grind, give of his best, unless the heat/humidity gets to him, fingers crossed.

      • Somebody Else said

        By the way, you’re on a roll (along with Jenny) with these analyses, as usual. You both manage to articulate this matter with more aplomb, and you seem to do a better job of keeping out your frustrations than me at this point in my participation. Can I tell you how much I enjoy and appreciate both of your contributions to this tennis-chat collective? Well, I just did. 😉

      • Jenny said

        Thank you, SE. Believe me, I can get very frustrated at times, even with Fed and certainly with Lopez today, then I think take a deep breath! Thank you for your thoughtful contributions, SE.

      • Jenny said

        Seconded to M’s last comment. A player does have to change certain things as they get older, it makes sense.

      • M said

        “Can I tell you how much I enjoy and appreciate both of your contributions to this tennis-chat collective? Well, I just did.”

        *beams at SE* 😀

        “Believe me, I can get very frustrated at times”

        LOL. Goes double for me. I’m sure you all remember some of my less nuanced rants. 😛

        “David won’t make things easy for him, he will grind, give of his best, unless the heat/humidity gets to him, fingers crossed.”

        *crosses all digits*

      • Somebody Else said

        M,
        In case you missed it above, I’m in total 100% agreement regarding the change of pace in Roger’s shots.

      • Jenny said

        Remiss of me, M, thank you for all yours, rants included! I’ve got my special chariot at the ready 😈 I’m sure you get my drift, M!

      • M said

        “I’ve got my special chariot at the ready”

        *rofl*
        😆
        😆

  8. Bella said

    Here we go again TP: weren’t you writing Rafa off just a few months ago?!!! Murray is in effect back to where he was last year..and still without a Slam. This surface and the best of 3 sets format are his forte: the surface is not great for Rafa and he is coming off a 6-week rest so adjustments to be made for sure, ie: get more 1st serves in for a start!

    BTW: I think 95% is an over-estimate!!

  9. Growltiger said

    Agreed. Nadal has been on a rocket ride, winning everything. He had to hit the wall sometime. He just did. Murray is on a roll.
    I see the top five players now as:

    1-Nadal
    2-Federer
    3-Murray
    4-Soderling – Djokovic

    Djokovic hasn’t got the killer instinct to be No 1 (or even no 2). Every time he reaches No 2, he decompensates and loses to the ball boy during warmup.

  10. Carolee said

    Nadal really looked bad in that SF… I think something is wrong with him. He didn’t run down shots, or even attempt to do so.

Leave a Reply

 
