Tennis Planet

Official Freaking Site Of Tennis Freaking Fans Worldwide.

Chicago Fan’s report from Cincinnati. Thanks.

Posted by tennisplanet on August 23, 2010

CHICAGO FAN

Hi All,

I was in Cincinnati this weekend, and I saw Federer play twice–in the semi-final and the final.

It was surreal to be sitting there watching one of my tennis heroes. It was amazing actually! If you haven’t gone to an actual tournament, I highly recommend it. It’s completely different to see a match live.

The final was surprisingly close. Mardy played well, but in the end he was outmatched.

Roger is every bit as charming and gracious as you would expect. The Bryan brothers were quite nice as well.

The only thing that was missing was that Rafa failed to beat Baghdatis. If he had won, then I would have had a chance to see Rafa play Roger, which would have made a great trip extraordinary!

Have a great week!

6 Responses to “Chicago Fan’s report from Cincinnati. Thanks.”

  1. Growltiger said

    We used to go to Cincy tennis every summer. Loved it. Things came up with family stuff and we stopped going. I regretted it this weekend. Would have loved to watch the matches I wanted to watch rather than those ESPN deigned to show.

  2. chieko said

    😀 thanks. I evny you so very much!!

  3. M said

    High living – seeing Roger live in the semi *and* the final!
    Thank you so much for your report, Chicago Fan!

  4. Winthrop Corey said

    I was in Cincinnatti last summer and watched Roger play all his matches and win the tournament. It was a thrill of a lifetime. To see him play live, you understand how he can stop the other player from playing his game. That you don’t see on the “TV”. The semi final the night before, which I saw, was Nadal and Jovovich. They both hit the ball sooooooo hard and acurate that I said to myself, Federer can never beat either one of them. But out he came and stopped Jovovich from doing what he does best. That is the true testament that Roger is truly a great player and can beat anyone. When he enters a room, everyone will always stand and call him “Mr.Federer”. I will always remember him as such.

    • Sol said

      Winthrop, do you mean Djokovic? I think Jovovich is a model or something?

      Thank you both for your report. I’ve seen Fed play live a couple of times too and it was a great sight.

      BTW, Chicago Fan, how is everything on the dating front? Did the weird guy call you back? 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
