Tennis Planet

Official Freaking Site Of Tennis Freaking Fans Worldwide.

Do you watch for how well the ball is hit when it’s dead? Sure you do!!!!!

Posted by tennisplanet on August 23, 2010

For freaks still scratching their……….head, I am talking about a dead ball that has to be hit by a player to reach the ball kid. With their skill, shouldn’t every ball reach the ball kid with him having to not even move an inch? Heck, there should be a point penalty if not.

Here’s one for freaks still drooling from yesterday:

11 Responses to “Do you watch for how well the ball is hit when it’s dead? Sure you do!!!!!”

  1. chieko said

    I am sorry I did not see anything like you mentioned?? Oh well I guess it is just me, I donot get this and this is not even a joke??

  2. clifford said

    I find myself often watching what the players do with a “dead” ball. It reveals so much about their state of mind, I think. Or maybe not, but I like to think so. Fed often hits the dead ones right to the ball kids, and considering he did that job himself in his youth in Basel, I’m sure the gesture is appreciated.

    • MHM said

      “Fed often hits the dead ones right to the ball kids, and considering he did that job himself in his youth in Basel, I’m sure the gesture is appreciated.”

      Exactly Clifford! I love it how Fed helps the ball kids..
      I used to think of hitting dead balls as an OCD trait as if one just can’t wait for the ball kid to arrive and wants to get the ball out of his/her sight as immediate as possible and well it’s also a nice gesture..
      While i still believe OCD may be the reason for some, i think for Federer it sometimes helps him in controlling his feelings.. He often has a poker face but as you said the way he hits a dead ball reveals so much about the state of his mind 😉

  3. BANTI said

    Wow love this vid. So underhanded slice forehand lob to the ball kid? Did I get that right?:) Nice shot Fed. This is not as easy as it looks people:)

  4. Somebody Else said

    If only he could have applied that kind of accuracy to the final that year, instead of having a mental meltdown.

  5. Sol said

    Is that Wilander commentating? Even he’s impressed

Leave a Reply

 
