Tennis Planet

Official Freaking Site Of Tennis Freaking Fans Worldwide.

Rally Round Nadal, Boys. From Chicago Fan. Thanks.

Posted by tennisplanet on August 26, 2010

CHICAGO FAN

Click here.

14 Responses to “Rally Round Nadal, Boys. From Chicago Fan. Thanks.”

  1. BANTI said

    This was an awesome article.

    • Sol said

      How is this an awesome article? It’s not only offensive to Fed in that the author means Fed is done and burried so we have to move on, but it’s particularly offensive towards Nadal: “we’ve got little choice but to start rallying behind the guy who has never won here before”. As in, we have no choice but to settle for Nadal. And what’s up with calling him “Na-DULL” and saying he doesn’t have many followers in NY?
      Am I not understanding this right?

      • Bonnie said

        Again, I agree with you Sol. I didn’t like the fact that they are saying they want to rally behind SOMEIONE, ANYONE, other than Federer because he’s just all done, so they may as well rally behind Rafa because, after all, he is #1 and close to being the greatest of all time. Disrespect to Roger big time. Also didn’t like the “Na-Dull” jab. And taling about Nadal’s girlfriend like she was just as boring and not attractive — to bring back Borg’s ex-wife because she was so beautiful. I think Nadal’s girlfriend is not lacking in the beauty department at all. All in all, this wasn’t an accurate assessment of what New Yorkers feel, just one uneducated, misinformed would-be-famous journalist.

      • Jenny said

        Actually, I thought there was disrespect to Nadal and Fed by the author of the article, the sarcastic digs were so obvious to me, it was unnecessary. I’m sure Rafa will take this stuff with a pinch of salt and so he should. Fans will rally behind who they choose, Mr Koblin, I’m sure New Yorkers don’t need your guidance! What I fail to understand is why some US reporters/writers are so quick to embrace the surly and sometimes argumentative foul mouthed Murray.

      • ClayBuster said

        Yeah, the ‘Fed is done, so let’s all jump on the Rafa bandwagon’-bit is extremely irritating. The article gives no respect to either Fed nor Nadal. Shameful.

      • BANTI said

        Wow you too Jenny? I didn’t expect to see these responses, as I didn’t see the sarcasm. He seemed to make a case on the opinion of NY tennis fans, with the Wertheim and Carillo References and I just gave a frank response to that.

      • M said

        “Actually, I thought there was disrespect to Nadal and Fed by the author of the article, the sarcastic digs were so obvious to me, it was unnecessary. I’m sure Rafa will take this stuff with a pinch of salt and so he should. Fans will rally behind who they choose, Mr Koblin, I’m sure New Yorkers don’t need your guidance!”

        This. In a nutshell.

        If nothing else, he’s really late, since several of us have been beloved of Roger and Rafa since at least 2004, if not earlier.

      • RafaFan said

        Sol I didn’t read the article but I fully agree with you. lol. It’s enough to read your comment in order to judge this crap! 🙂 Sol make sure you stay in Zurich at the Hallenstadion three days before x-mas! Woohooo!

      • BANTI said

        I meant Aweful!

  2. BANTI said

    I liked it for different reasons. I liked the idea of the “city” embracing Rafa (the small town European kid) as they did Roger to make him feel at home when maybe he doesn’t feel that way at the moment. The whole American hospitality part of the article. The Open is my favorite slam and feel its a pity for the biggest ambassador of the sport, the current number 1, to not admire it as well.
    Also loved the Connors analogy (another consummate grinder) and how he won the the hearts of the difficult NY fans coming from small town Kansas or wherever he was from. “‘You may not like me, but I like you!’ And from there on out, he owned the joint! He owned it!” Super cool.

    I do feel Roger is getting older and respect his opinion if he chooses to embrace Rafa instead of Roger over the next few years , its probably the less painful choice:( I for one will not, being a die hard Fed fan.

  3. MM said

    It reeks of the northeast, elitist, know it all, my crap smells like roses, there’s nothing past NY and if you can make it here, you can make it anywhere attitude that has driven my country into the toilet.

    I say good for you Rafa. Good for your values; your family and friends and how you treasure all of them. Your aspirations. Gee all he wants to do after tennis is be with his friends at home or sailing. And that’s a negative? Only to a jerk like the writer. It’s why Rafa’s picture hangs, alone, with my tennis memorabilia.

    You can’t get behind Rafa because he’s Na-dull? Tell you what assclown, kiss off get back to me when you’ve accomplished something in your life besides the snark trophy you’re angling for. Jerk.

  4. Sol said

    Banti, I’m sorry. I thought maybe I didn’t understand the article correctly but I didn’t mean to provoke an angry reaction against you personally. I thought the author was disrespecting both Fed and Nadal, so I didn’t understand how you would think this is “awesome”. But I didn’t mean to attack you in any way. Just the author.

    • Jenny said

      Hi Banti, as far as you are concerned, that goes for me too 🙂 However, I had to agree with Sol and others regarding the article.

Leave a Reply

 
