Tennis Planet

Official Freaking Site Of Tennis Freaking Fans Worldwide.

Did Verdasco DELIBERATELY rub it in yesterday after the win?

Posted by tennisplanet on September 8, 2010

I think so.

Even if you discount the falling flat after the last point, given how close the match was and he did come from behind after losing the first two sets, there was still something more that more than adequately demonstrated Verdasco clear intention of not being a good sportsman and friend – to a fellow countryman.

When he sat up Ferrer was right in front of him waiting to shake hands. Instead of getting up and embracing his fellow countryman, Verdasco deliberately looked down to avoid Ferrer and make sure Ferrer felt it a little longer. Ferrer was already in uncomfortable zone ever since Verdasco’s over the top celebration and after shaking the umpire’s hand. This delay only added to Ferrer’s injury – something Verdasco orchestrated on purpose.

Not freaking good.

14 Responses to “Did Verdasco DELIBERATELY rub it in yesterday after the win?”

  1. Bettyjane said

    I guess this is right up there with Yannick Noah’s graceless treatment of Mats Wilander after his FO win. (and I was rooting for Noah during that match!)

  2. Jenny said

    I would like to hope you’re wrong, TP, so I’m still keeping an open mind on the matter and giving him the benefit of the doubt. Just to say, I’m pretty certain Juan Carlos, fellow Valencian and friend, would never have reacted like that.

    • M said

      “I’m still keeping an open mind on the matter and giving him the benefit of the doubt.”

      Me too, Jenny (though I’ve since had a closer viewing of the Nice meltdown and am really rolling my eyes at some of the things that came out of his mouth *that* day, let me tell you).

      But this … no, IDTS. I mean, it was five grueling sets, you know? I don’t care if you’re the Rafanator, or Roger “Superman” Federer — even he was more than a little winded at the close the other night — you’re going to be just zonked. Add the emotion on top of that, and you’re probably not even sure where you are.

      • Jenny said

        “I’ve since had a closer viewing of the Nice meltdown and am really rolling my eyes at some of the things that came out of his mouth *that* day, let me tell you)”

        I know, saw and heard it all in it’s ‘glory’ live, and I condemned him for it here on this site.

      • jett09 said

        “I don’t care if you’re the Rafanator, or Roger “Superman” Federer”

        😆 I like that M 😆

  3. jennifur said

    was kinda hopin 4 ferrer in this one … nothin against verdasco.

  4. bunnee said

    i’ve always favoured ferrer over the egomaniac verdasco… the sneer on his face is something david could never emulate.

    • Jenny said

      Very true, Bunnee. LOL egomaniac! Seriously, I think there are also some underlying bragging rights going on, despite their friendship. For years David was Spain’s #2 behind Rafa due to his higher ranking, he lost that when his ranking dropped in 2009 and Verdasco became Spain’s #2. He was his usual gracious self after the match, but he looked pretty upset and angry to me. I bet David is furious with HIMSELF right now because he knows he should have won that match in straights or at the most in 5 and that will hurt him.

      • jett09 said

        Jenny I have just watched the vid, wow how painful that must have been for David 😦 it was written all over his face 😦

      • Jenny said

        I know, Jett. However, despite his refinement, he is a tough cookie, and he does have loving parents, family, friends and a loyal fan base, so true support will be there for him, and hopefully a top 10 spot by Monday, so not all bad 🙂

  5. kitty said

    Yes that celebration was totally uncalled for and in a way looked to ire ferrer, I felt disgusted looking at his celebrations, I am going to kick his ass if he doesn’t atleast take a set off nadal

  6. Sol said

    I don’t see what you’re all talking about. And I don’t even like Verdasco.
    Imo, he was just exhausted and overwhelmed by the win. He got up and hugged Ferru.

    I am pissed that Ferru lost that one, though, and hope he won’t beat himself up for it.

    • Jenny said

      I can understand where TP and some Planeteers are coming from. I agree, he did hug Ferru, but Fer didn’t instigate it in the heat of his moment, it’s understandable. I honestly don’t think he was angry or upset with Verdasco himself, it was a match played in a sporting manner. As I said on a previous thread, they probably shared a drink together and let’s be fair, Verdasco has always been supportive. Actually, they all support each other in good times and bad.

      “hope he won’t beat himself up for it”

      Exactly Sol, and neither should he, but he did have the reputation of getting down on himself if he feels he’s less than perfect on the court. Sometimes very bright folk, the deep thinkers can be their own worst enemy sometimes, it’s because they care.

    • D.S.G. said

      Agreed, Sol. That was one HELL of a match. I personally read nothing in to Verdasco’s reaction. Hey I know! He was so sure Ferrer would win that when he himself won, he fainted. Just like a girl.

      Tee hee

      😉

Leave a Reply

 
