Tennis Planet

Official Freaking Site Of Tennis Freaking Fans Worldwide.

Roger Federer eyes return to No. 1. From Sarah. Thanks.

Posted by tennisplanet on October 19, 2010

SARAH

Roger Federer eyes return to No. 1

Click here.

 

22 Responses to “Roger Federer eyes return to No. 1. From Sarah. Thanks.”

  1. chieko said

    I love Federer san, and that will never change be it he is no. 1 ,2 or anthing else. I simply feel lucky that he is still playing very well. Other players of same age have either retired , injured or gone. Yes he is losing to some younger player and it is only normal. But in my heart he is my kind of a champion. Thank you Federer san. 😀

  2. chipnputt said

    The guy won 24 finals in row? Wow, didn’t know that.

  3. wuiches said

    This routine is becoming kind of boring.

  4. mateo said

    I like the tone, less arrogant than usual, damn journalist…!

  5. Jenny said

    I’m sure Roger would love to be #1 again, he’s honest and I like his approach, but right now Rafa has dug himself comfortably into the top spot, he’s over 4,000 points ahead of Fed. Whether Djoko and Murray can rise to the big challenges ahead, consistency, fitness, we can only wait and see, I would give the edge to Djokovic who seems to be getting his mojo back and was truly tested – this could be an interesting new rivalry. We mustn’t forget Delpo who can put a spanner in the works next year. Neither should we forget those great vets and if playing well, are still potential banana skins to any of them.

    • chieko said

      I agree with you Jenny san. I think Nadal san is also a very deserving champion. I do hope though his coach uncle would not do things to blemish him. I perosnally think Nadal san is a very honest person. I do not believe that he is anything otherwise. I like him also. BUT I love Federer san very much. 😀

      • D.S.G. said

        I agree with you on both counts, Cheiko san

        I had lost interest in tennis and then I happened to see Federer play one day and have been hooked ever since. He has such grace and charisma and nobody has ever played the way he does. That is not to say I dislike Nadal, Djokovic, Murray, Gonzalez. I like them very much. They all have something different to offer. I’m just very glad that we in an age contemporary with these great players, particularly Nadal and Federer.

    • TGiT said

      Remember after the AO Nadal has the bulk of his points to defend.

      • Bonnie said

        Very true TGIT!

      • chieko said

        Ah so desu ne!! That is correct !! I forgot that defense formula. Sometimes I do not like this formula of having to defend. But then what do I know for I do not even play tennis. 😦

      • chieko said

        Oh then, next year Nadal san has to defend many points.. no ??!! Wow it will be so interesting to see.

        What an interesting year it is going to be? Nadal san defending and better his last season. Delpo san back in action and trying to restore former glory. Federer san trying for his return to No. 1 and set another form of record. Djokovic trying to fulfil his original claim of long live the new King. Murray san trying to shut the media ( especially the ones from his own country) up once and for all..

        Long live tennis and thank Rafanfan san ( I think ) for showing me how to get live stream..

        and C.V. san is getting better.

        If only I hear from Gracie san ..then it would be like winning a jackpot for me…

        😆 It is a beautiful world. Yes !!

      • M said

        I find it distressing too, Chieko san. But if things did not change like that, Rafa would never have become Number One, and Roger wouldn’t ever have a chance to get his Number One ranking back.

        So I *guess* it’s okay, and it also adds to the excitement of the season.
        But it does seem quite grueling for our heroes, so I’m not sure I’ll ever find myself quite reconciled to it.

        (Boy, I sound like I can’t quite make my mind up at all, don’t I? 😛 )

      • Jenny said

        Ah, the dreaded defence of points. If a player can’t defend for whatever reason they lose points, lose too many = loss of ranking. Many might say it’s easier to climb up the ladder than to stay there. Rafa and Roger haven’t done such a bad job as the #1 and #2, how many combined years is it now?

      • M said

        “Rafa and Roger haven’t done such a bad job as the #1 and #2, how many combined years is it now?”

        _________________________________________

        From AP and Wiki:

        “They have held the top two rankings on the ATP Tour from July 2005 until 14 September 2009, when Nadal fell to World No. 3 (Andy Murray became the new No. 2). They are the only pair of men to have ever finished four consecutive calendar years at the top. Federer was ranked number 1 for a record 237 consecutive weeks beginning in February 2004. Nadal ascended to No. 2 in July 2005 and held this spot for a record 160 consecutive weeks before surpassing Federer in August 2008.”

      • M said

        So since it’s October 2010 now, we’d have to add those weeks on when Rafa became #1 after his clay sweep (and also subtract those few weeks when Roger was #3, since he’s back to #2 now).

        Since we have so many people on the board who’re much better at stats then me, I’m hoping one of them can finish up the math.

        Until then, I’d say the semi-official answer is “Around six years — which, in tennis time, translates to a really long time!” 😀

Leave a Reply

 
